SCA Deadlines Across Europe

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

The European Banking Authority (EBA) granted an extension to the original 2019 deadline by accepting a gradual implementation process, allowing many countries to enforce SCA regulations in phases. Now this extension has come to an end, especially since so many European countries were able to enforce the new regulations as of December 31st 2020.

However, there are still a few EU/EEA countries that have needed the extension to carry over into 2021: UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Belgium, Ireland, Denmark, Austria & Switzerland.

The following countries did make the 2020 cutoff, and were operating under fully enforced SCA regulations by the beginning of 2021: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia & Sweden.

Read the full article at

Who is Okay?
Okay is the fully PSD2 compliant Strong Customer Authentication platform that provides transaction and authentication security to apps, shielding the entire authentication process from any threats. We help all issuers, remittance services, and e-wallet providers comply with PSD2’s SCA requirements to deliver multiple authentication methods, including biometrics and strong security mechanisms at the point of transaction. Want to get to know us better? Visit

More To Explore